twen release day .jpeg

Photo credit: Alexa Viscius

Check out the band’s Audiotree session to get a sense of their live show HERE.

 Awestruck is out now through Frenchkiss (The Orchard). Get it HERE.

After releasing singles BaptismWasteDamselHoly River and Make Hard, each track packed with the band's signature choral vocal harmonies, guitar hooks and brazen youthful energy, we're thrilled to be sharing their highly anticipated first long play effort with you today.

Awestruck is a time capsule two years in the making and recorded in different locations along the way. Though unabashedly indie rock, Twen’s songs genre-bend from shoe-gaze-sized walls of sound to Beatle-esque call-and-response harmonies, while frontperson Jane Fitzsimmons’ voice weaves through guitarist Ian Jones’ guitar lines with Cocteau Twin’s inspired flair, giving breath of ethereal mysticism across the album.

For the past two years, Twen has been re-defining what a touring band looks like. In an age of homogeneous pop crafted for streaming consumption, Twen have been touring endlessly and perfecting a raw and mesmerizing live show without a proper release in tow. With DIY at the core of the band’s ethos, the two Twen masterminds have run Airbnbs while touring, played in exchange for skydiving, screen printed self-designed merch items by hand, and booked their own tours. Now based in Nashville, Twen have been gearing up to release the explosive debut album Awestruck.

Despite the band's non-traditional start, promise grows with each step Twen takes. The freedom and chaos brought on by their nomadic roots leaks into their live performance, only to saturate further with time. With touring now defining how a rock band can earn keep in 2019, Twen represents a refreshing antidote in an increasingly digital world. Awestruck serves as their digital flag, a compressed promise of the joyous energy that awaits in their tours and records to come.


Awestruck Tracklisting

1. Awestruck

2. Damsel

3. Honey Smacks

4. Long Time

5. Make Hard

6. Baptism

7. Holy River

8. Waste

9. Azkaban

10. Horseblood

"Awestruck emits a sense of catharsis and relief with Fitzsimmons and Jones safe in the knowledge that the DIY ethic and the hard yards of transience and uncertainty have culminated in something tactile and tangible, studio recordings and a long awaited debut album." - Indie 30

 "Twen’s genre-defying songs, fall somewhere between dream pop and psych rock, with an inherent DIY ethos. While the “Damsel” video’s playful nature speaks to the band’s desire to make thoughtful art and to simply have fun doing it... Twen is a diy band about to make it big" - i-D

"['Awestruck'] promises to be a collection of sunny shoegaze and dream-pop reverie, Jones’ guitar and Fitzsimmons’ hiccuped vocals perfectly paired." - Paste Magazine

"Nashville indie rockers TWEN built up a reputation for themselves off the strength of their live show before releasing any music. They’ve since signed to Frenchkiss, put out a couple singles that prove they’re good in the studio too..." Brooklyn Vegan

"It’s rare to find a band this fully-formed from the start, which is precisely why Twen feels so essential." - Uproxx

Nashville-via-Boston DIY scene duo Twen have today released their long awaited debut album, Awestruck, out now through Frenchkiss (The Orchard)!

Follow Twen via:


For more information on Twen, please contact: /

Stefanie PaganComment